Home made (flax seed) gel - need help

LockeLocke Posts: 9Registered Users
Hello curlies,

I would like to make my own gel. Light hold would be enough. Unfortunately a lot of old postings are gone, including recipes and hints concerning flax seed gel.

I tried it last night, put 2 tbs flax seeds in ab. 2 cups of boiling water and let simmer for 10 min. What I got was very watery and still is.

Should I use broken flax seed instead of whole seeds? Let it simmer for a longer time?

Do you have other recipes for home made gel?

Thanks, Locke
3 a/b wash with any cone-free conditioner, light gel or condish for styling

I'd rather have my hair a little bit frizzy than producty

Comments

• IwantcurlyhairIwantcurlyhair Posts: 338Registered Users
    Funny you should ask this. I just made this today for the first time! I found a recipe here... http://www.fromnaturewithlove.com/recipe/recipe.asp?recipe_id=214. It worked well for me. It's my first time making it and the consistency was great, maybe even a little too thick but I did simmer it for a minute or two past 10 minutes because I thought it looked too thin(although I think 10 minutes would be perfect now). My hair is still drying so I'll post my results when it's completely dry. I didn't add the aloe vera this time because I wanted to test whether my hair responded well to the flax seed gel seperately from the aloe. Adding the Aloe to it sounds like a great idea though and I'm sure I'll try that next time if this experiment goes well.
    Let me know how you like it, if you try it please! 8)
  • LockeLocke Posts: 9Registered Users
    Thank you! :D

I made a new batch, doubled the amount of flax seeds (like in the recipe you linked) and, now, that's a gel! I'm curious what my hair will look like with it.