How long was your entire transition process

legette68legette68 Posts: 216Registered Users
I am curious. I have been transitioning since Nov 2006. Five months now. I have shoulder length hair and about 3 inches of new growth. iT SEEMS LIKE IT IS GOING TO BE A LONG PROCESS. Right now all I can do is ponytails. I was used to wearing my hair out all the time. But the new growth and relaxed ends don't mesh. How long was it from begining to end? This is for those who did not BC.
Thick, coarse 3C hair:coffee:
BC Feb 2009/ relaxer free since 06/08
Second time around!

http://public.fotki.com/legette68

Comments

• ParasolParasol Posts: 291Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
    I started from zero. I had 0 inches of newgrowth when I started to transition from a relaxer. At the beginning my hair was so damaged from the relaxer that it even refused to curl. At that time my hair was much to short for a braid. That was ,I think, 2005.

Now I wouldn't even call myself a transitioner anymore, because my curls came back ( even with relaxed hair) and now I'm 3c allover.
    My hair is a liiittle bit longer than BSL when it's straight.

My tip: I know this sounds impossible sometimes ,but what really helps is: Not focusing on hair too much. Don't think about it all the time. One day you'll look in the mirror and say: Wow ,my hair grew out fast! Believe me it works.
    Don't care about your growth too much ,care about the health of your hair.

• LadydncingLadydncing Posts: 964Registered Users
    It took me about a year and a half. In my album, I have pics of what my hair looked like after I chopped off the last of the relaxed hair.
    Maya
    3b/c CG routine
    HG line DevaCurl
    Password: Locks

event.png
  • mariag002mariag002 Curl Neophyte Posts: 3,557Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    Ladydncing wrote:
    It took me about a year and a half. In my album, I have pics of what my hair looked like after I chopped off the last of the relaxed hair.