Chronic itchy scalp getting worse

KLW17KLW17 Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 14 Curl Neophyte
I've had a chronically itchy scalp for as long as I can remember. No matter what products I use or how often I wash my hair (I've averaged 2x a week for many years, even longer as a kid). My scalp has NO redness or flaky/scaly dandruff. It doesn't ever feel excessively oily unless I've gone 4+ days without washing and at that point will have a very small amount of soft oily white buildup. 

I've used dandruff shampoo (before I went sulfate/silicone free), tea tree, peppermint oil, aloe vera juice...I've tried all sorts of things. I have a shampoo brush I use every time I wash my hair and take great care to rinse everything out and am careful not to get any leave-in products on my scalp. Nothing has helped at all. I'm still itching even as my freshly washed hair is drying! I've been using the same products for a few months--Acure Mega Moisture shampoo + conditioner. The last 2 washes my scalp has been burning and itching worse than ever. It never used to burn before. I'm going crazy! I just want some relief. 

Answers

• Guide 65Guide 65 Registered Users, Moderators Posts: 1,984 Curl Virtuoso
    That sounds really annoying.  I used to get one spot that was itchy every winter, but it went away when I started CG.

Have you tried massaging your scalp with oil?  Have you tried cowashing instead of shampooing?

I'm sorry I'm not much help.  Maybe someone else will have some better ideas.
    Formerly known as Janiegirl
    2B/2C, fine hair, low density, mixed porosity, protein loving hair
    Current products:
    Changing up my shampoos because I can't find one I like
    Deva Curl One Condition (original formula)
    Innersense I Create Volume
    Deva Curl Ultra Defining Gel
  • Therese1Therese1 Registered Users Posts: 2,563 Curl Virtuoso
    I would try going to a dermatologist, since this has been ongoing.