I have a question concerning the border...

LotsawavesLotsawaves Registered Users Posts: 9,777 Curl Virtuoso
The people there are being called immigrants.  Aren't some of them refugees?  I believe there are different laws concerning each.  Are children being taken away from the refugees?  I hope I'm not sounding too stupid.
From Michael Berg:

Every person has a unique connection to the Creator that can never be extinguished, and every person has a great soul that can manifest important things in our world. To make a person feel less than they are because of something inside themselves, be it faith, race, or sexual orientation, is the greatest sin of all."

Comments

• CurlyD24CurlyD24 Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 83 Curl Connoisseur
    Hi @Lotsawaves
    I'm not an expert but I work and study in immigration / refugee law. Sorry if the answer is a bit long, I hope this makes sense. 
    To understand this, we need to look at the Obama and the Trump administration separately. Also, different regimes apply depending on whether you cross at the southern border, you apply for asylum and are 'legally' in the US, or cross the border 'illegally'. 

Under the Obama administration: 
    If you are an asylum seeker (a person seeking refugee status in the US) and you ask for asylum at one of the points of entry at the Southern border, you would be subject to a process called expedited removal. This means you are automatically placed in detention. However, Obama would not enforce detention systematically, and would not detain families with children. 

If you seek asylum as you are already in the US and have a legal status (like a visa for instance), you would not be detained, so no family separation. 

If you cross the border illegally, that is a crime under U.S. law. You can be put in prison. However, here again, Obama administration would generally not enforce this and never detain families with children. 

Under the Trump administration: