Poor college student looking for my holy grail products!

imagabsterimagabster Posts: 71Registered Users
Hello! I just recently signed up on naturally curly, though I've often browsed the forums and different articles on the website. I was hoping somebody would be able to offer me some advice based on what works for them!

My hair is between 2c and 3a and I have a lot of it! I'm currently trying to grow it out (which I have never done before) and I'm noticing that a lot of the products I've been using are building up more than usual and I'm worried certain products will be too harsh and cause damage. I'm hoping to go silicone and sulfate free, but I don't know of any inexpensive products that I would be able to find at the local Walmart or Target (I am a poor college student after all). Any suggestions? I also have to watch out for certain ingredients, such as oats, coconut, cocoa, and wheat, just to name a few, because I'm allergic to a bunch of foods and I often get eczema on my hands and arms.

If anybody would be able to recommend shampoos, conditioners, and styling creams (gels and mousses tend to make my hair crunchy) or any other wavy/curly advice I would very much appreciate it! I am a self proclaimed hair product junkie and I dream of the day when I will find my holy grail products!
CG since September 2010
thick, medium-coarse, low-normal porosity (?), 2c/3a hair!
growing out my hair to BSL!

experimenting with...
low-poo/ co-wash: Everyday Shea Moisturizing Lavender Shampoo & tressemme naturals moisture
rinse-out/ leave-in: GFTN, CJAO, CJRM, TJ nourish, GVP Conditioning Balm
styling: HESMU, CJCIAB, eco styler krystal, BRHG

"I'm as free as my hair." Mother Monster

Comments

• GretchenGretchen Administrator Posts: 10,840Moderators Curl Virtuoso
    Welcome! We're so glad to have you!

Gretchen
    NaturallyCurly.com co-founder
    3A

You are beautiful!
  • EmerwenEmerwen Posts: 138Registered Users
    Yay! Another product junkie! :D