I'm almost ready to quit and relax my hair

diva_kishadiva_kisha Registered Users Posts: 4
I'm really trying but I think I am almost at my wits end. I have been transitioning since August 2009 and because of my busy schedule, I really need to be able to wear weaves and braids. I have been wearing wigs but that is extra work in the mornings. My problem is that these "so-called" natural haircare professionals in Atlanta are anything but that. I made an appointment with a stylist for kinky twists. My hair is now a hot mess and I will have to pay someone else to take this hair down. She tied my hair into a knot with the synthetic hair, then braided it about a half-inch, and then tried to twist the rest. It is falling apart and the braids are all different lengths and sizes. She insists she did a good job. :sad3: I'm feeling like life was much easier when my hair was relaxed, even with the constant shedding. And I just can't see chopping all my hair off. My hair has been shoulder length since I was a child and I'm not comfortable yet. Any advice or stylist recommendation would be helpful.

Comments

• adthomasadthomas Registered Users Posts: 5,525 Curl Neophyte
    Sorry to hear you're having such a hard time. I don't have much advice on transitioning since I chopped my hair three months after I stopped relaxing. It was too much work.

I'm wearing my hair in twists. I still wash/condition/deep condition but I'm leaving it alone as much as possible as I wait for it to grow. In the mean time I haver a short cute wig that takes only minutes to style. I could never do that relaxed.
    Yes, it's real. No, you can't touch it. :wav:
  • aishamodelaishamodel Registered Users Posts: 136
    Unfortunately, I do not live in the Atlanta area so I cannot recommend a stylist.

However, I transitioned for a year and a half with braids before I revealed my natural look. I didn't wear too much weaves because of the damage caused by leaving hair out in the front with and straightening.