Newbie Here-no BC-thinking of Lacefront?

Mrs_NevilleMrs_Neville Posts: 1Registered Users
Hi - new here. Thinking about how exactly to start the process of sporting my own natural curls. I've had relaxers all my life and truly have no clue at all what my natural curls look like. I can assume they are 4a/4b but really haven't any clue.

My hair has been through SO MUCH.

I'm thinking I will continue to grow out the roots without relaxing them, instead of cutting our the relaxer. And, all the while, wear a lacefront wig and just cair for my hair underneath. It's not even past my ears because my last straight style was a Halle Berry pixie cut.

Any advice for this newbie would be greatly appreciated!

Is a lacefront a bad idea??

Comments

• GretchenGretchen Administrator Posts: 10,840Administrators, Moderators Administrator
    Hi and welcome to our community!

You might want to post specific questions over on one of the hair boards.

Have you checked out our Grow Out Challenge?

http://www.naturallycurly.com/grow_out_challenge

Gretchen
    NaturallyCurly.com co-founder
    3A

You are beautiful!
  • HappyMarilynHappyMarilyn Posts: 1Registered Users
    Hello,

My understanding is that lace front wigs are not that good for your hair in that they do not allow your hair and scalp to "breathe". Also they can feel very hot if you are not used to wigs. I have never wore one so my comments are based on what I have heard from knowledgeable people.

I would recommend doing braids if you don't want to do a big chop. Try to get braids done not too tightly so as not to pull out your baby hair. Also while your hair is in braids do wash it regularly and oil your scalp.

When you remove the braids, make sure to get a deep conditioning treatment and a trim. Keep doing this until your natural hair gets to a length you are comfortable with. I have met women who got braids regularly for about 2 years before wearing their hair out.