CurlTalk

breastfeeding and sleeping thru night?

deedlesdeedles Posts: 2,466Registered Users
like most of you know I am fairly new at this "breastfeeding thing" so forgive me if I seem dumb.

for the first time tonight Colin slept along time.. I nursed him at 9pm before putting him down and was told by my pediatrician that I could let him indicate when he wanted to nurse since he was gaining good weight..

I woke up a 2:30am and noticed he was still fast asleep.. I debated waking him and even woke up hubby (which he loved) to ask him what he thought.. I ended up waking Colin and nursed him for a while and now put him back down..

should I have woken him or in the future just let him sleep? who knows he may of woken up in a while.

Thanks for the .02

D

PS: He's a bit over 1 month old..
Liam: 6 years old
Colin: 3 years old

Comments

• RedCatWavesRedCatWaves Posts: 31,258Registered Users
    Once past the newborn jaundice problem, I'd only wake for missed daytime feedings. Never at night. Leave a sleeping baby asleep.
  • nynaeve77nynaeve77 Posts: 7,135Registered Users
    Definitely let him sleep! Enjoy some good rest, lucky mama! :)
    "Maybe Lucy's right. Of all the Charlie Browns in the world, you're the Charlie Browniest."--Linus, A Charlie Brown Christmas

My fotki: /home/leaving?target=http%3A%2F%2Fpublic.fotki.com%2Fnynaeve77%2F" class="Popup
    Password: orphanannie
  • deedlesdeedles Posts: 2,466Registered Users
    thanks for the advice...
  • KaiaKaia Posts: 8,815Registered Users
    I never woke a baby to nurse at night. If they're sleeping, that's just fine with me. :lol:
    *Poster formerly known as Bailey422*

Here's all you have to know about men and women: women are crazy, men are stupid. And the main reason women are crazy is that men are stupid. ~ George Carlin
  • deedlesdeedles Posts: 2,466Registered Users