Use of Acronyms

KimitinoKimitino Registered Users Posts: 2
"Acronym: An acronym is a kind of [URL="javascript:OpenGlossary('abbreviation.html');"]abbreviation[/URL]. It is a word formed by taking [URL="javascript:OpenGlossary('letter.html');"] letters[/URL] from a [URL="javascript:OpenGlossary('phrase.html');"]phrase[/URL] that is too long to use comfortably. eg: Laser is an acronym of Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation. If the letters do not make a word, but are pronounced individually, as in the CIA or the BBC, it can be called an initialism."
All right you guys! Sorry to be such a !#)%&, but I am a newbie here and am having a devil of a time trying to figure out what most of you are talking about!!! :protest:
If you want to save time, please use the acronym, but only AFTER you have written out what it is the acronym stands for.
For example:
"I like to use CO (coconut oil) on my hair. CO makes my hair feel so nice."
If we all follow this format, maybe some of the wonderful information here will actually be of use to everybody!!
Thanks for listening!

Comments

• MixedUpCurlyChickMixedUpCurlyChick Registered Users Posts: 2,568 Curl Neophyte
    People have been using acronyms on this site for a long time. Its unlikely anybody's going to stop. Its just easier.

You can find a lot of their meanings here: http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/showthread.php?t=74759

Otherwise, don't hesitate to ask.
    comic-p.jpg
  • KimitinoKimitino Registered Users Posts: 2
    Thanks! I was going to ask if there was someplace to go to get the meanings of this "alphabet soup" - and you gave it to me without my asking! You're the best!!!
  • DEL2CDEL2C Registered Users Posts: 6,418 Curl Neophyte
    Kimitino wrote: »
    Thanks! I was going to ask if there was someplace to go to get the meanings of this "alphabet soup" - and you gave it to me without my asking! You're the best!!!