build-up, how to treat/prevent?

I went CG a month ago, and for the most part I’m happy with it. The only problem is that I think I’m getting product build-up. I can see flakes on my scalp and when I comb my hair in the shower, the hairs left on the comb white have gunk on them.

I’m new at this, and am curious why this happened, and what I can do to stop/prevent it. I co-wash every 2-3 days. A couple weeks in, I switched from Suave Naturals to White Rain, and I notice the WR is thinner. Could this be the problem? Am I using too much product, or is there some ingredient I need to stay away from? Also, I’ve heard of some people using brown sugar to get rid of buildup, how do I do this? Any comments would be helpful.
CG since 12/14/09

Co-wash/Rinse out: White Rain Energizing Citrus
Giovanni Direct Leave-In
Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Mousse

Comments

• Laura LeeLaura Lee Registered Users Posts: 1,828
    Brown sugar scrubs are really effective at getting rid of white gunk for me. Read about how I do them here:
    http://dormroomcurly.blogspot.com/2008/11/pour-some-sugar-on-me.html

While you're a month in and it may seem like you've gotten adjusted to CG, remember that it can take longer than that to fully transition. Your scalp may be overcompensating in oil production still. Give it some brown sugar scrubbing, some time, lots of scrubbing on just plain cowash days, and if need be, conditioners with tea tree oil help get rid of the white gunk too (like Giovanni's tea triple treat conditioner).
  • Kim:)Kim:) Registered Users Posts: 22
    I'm having the same problem :? let me know if anything works for you.
    I've tried a baking soda scrub then an acv rinse, and then I tried the acv rinse alone. The baking soda made my curls almost wavy and flat-looking, and I didn't seem to get anything out of it. But the acv alone definitely helped me for a day or two. You should see if that helps you!
    And I'm going to try the brown sugar scrub tomorrow! :p