Scab hair?

cmw45cmw45 Posts: 4Registered Users
I'm new to the natural curly game and was wondering if I have scab hair or just some 4b/4c thrown into the 4a. I'n not really good with the classifications so I don't know. Or perhaps it's neither and I just have some scab hair? I think it could be scab hair, b.c it's much drier and frizzes easier than the rest of the hair on my head. HELP...cause, if it's scab hair, I probably shouldn't get too attached as, from what I've heard, I'm gonna have to cut it off anyway. Right? (the pics of the hair in question are linked to this under my siggy.

Thanks in advance.
C
http://public.fotki.com/cmw45/all_things_hair/bc_and_beyond/1_month/p1010074.html
I don't think you'll need it, but here it is: password: happynappy

Comments

• bubbles76bubbles76 Posts: 288Registered Users
    I did a search here, and this is what they had to say about scab hair. Be sure to read it all the way down, because they get into it more. Plus, there's another link in this link that talks about scab hair.

http://www.naturallycurly.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=63008&highlight=scab+hair

HTH
    Last Relaxer August 15, 2004
    Big Chop April 23, 2006
    event.png
  • LadyJAHLadyJAH Posts: 81Registered Users
    I found this information on another website. I take no credit for any information contained herein:

Some people who have relaxed for a long time notice that the first transitional new growth comes in a brillo-y,hard texture that is a result of residual follicle damage from the years of relaxing. It's called "scab hair," and can persist for a few inches. Eventually, the follicle heals and your virgin hair comes in its true texture.