Why did you decide to transition? and how do you feel now?

SmallFrySmallFry Registered Users Posts: 614
Just curious about everyone else's reason(s).

For me,
1. I was sick of such a long routine of blow drying, flat ironing, curling etc.
2. I was tired of frying and relaxing my hair and the effects (dryness,
breakage, weak hair, damage etc.)
3. I was begining to feel like I was lying to myself... My hair isn't
straight!! So why do I work so hard to get it that way and keep it that
way? It's not me.
4. I started to wonder what my natural curls looked like... I've almost
forgotten because I've been relaxing for over 10 years!!
5. Finally figured out, I don't need a relaxer to achieve the straight look
even if I wanted to try it again later.
6. I want to LOVE MY CURLS.
7. Finally realized NATURALLY CURLY HAIR IS BEAUTIFUL.

Now at 6 1/2 months into it, I'm finding that it definitely is challenging to stick with it. I am always having to defend my hair to opposing individuals (mainly a relaxed-haired coworker). Sometimes, I feel like everyone is staring at me when I wear my hair down and curly. Sometimes, I wonder if I still want to go through with it. I wonder the end result will look like. So far, I like that my hair has made progress. I'm on CG so I feel this has helped encourage curl in the relaxed part of my hair. I look at it as a learning experience- learning how to manage my hair (had no clue before NC.com), learning how to deal with the criticism; and now I know how to use a diffuser. I don't plan on doing the BC, I just can't let go so easy. Overall, I am proud that I've made it this far :D:D:D and my family has been really supportive :D:D:D which I am very thankful for.

edited to add: I've been wearing my hair curly every day since starting CG and haven't had the urge to straighten yet!
Lotsa 3c curls
Curly Journey Album
Updated 2009 and 2010 pics
Hair Journal/Products

It's not about having what you want, it's about Wanting what you have

Comments