porosity help

I have come to believe that my hair is just naturally very porous. It is very healthy, has no color and no relaxer in it but just doesn't seem to hold anything more than a few hours. I can put gel in it until it's as crunchy as a potato chip and within a few hours it looks fluffy and like I didn't put any product in it at all :dontknow:.

Does anyone else have this issue, or know what I might be able to do to correct it? I usually seal with an oil after applying product but that doesn't seem to be working anymore either.

3b/c mix; mixture of fine, med. and coarse texture with med-high porosity

Current HG routine: Tresemme Naturals conditioner; AG Fast Food LI; AG Recoil; CJ CIAB = no crunch, lots of body and awesome definition :thumbup:

:rolleyes: Dutchess Daydreamer of the Desert Sands in the Order of the Curly Crusaders
:rolleyes:

http://public.fotki.com/crazycurlz21/
password:rupert

Comments

• OnyxCabeloOnyxCabelo Posts: 1,767Registered Users
    I'm no expert, but it sounds like your hair may be low porosity, in that it does not allow moisture to easily get in or out of your hair - the "scales" on each individual strand lie flat making it difficult for products to penetrate. Putting oil on your hair actually makes it worse because certain oils act like a barrier making it even more difficult for moisture to get to the hair.

My hair is the same way. I also have extremely coarse hair in that each strand it thick and wiry.

What I recently found is that my hair HATES oil. I wrote about my experience with oils in my blog.

Once I eliminated oils from my hair routine my issues with frizz, hair hardness, and the need to apply excess styling products was gone.