Sad Story

brownsugar84brownsugar84 Registered Users Posts: 111
So I recently found out via facebook that one of my friends was transitioning. Her last relaxer was November of '08 and she was really excited about her progress.

Then I saw her about a month after I found out and her hair was mighty straight. I asked her why she relaxed again and she turned to me and says, "because I felt ugly. I felt extremely ugly." I've heard that people have felt that way, but never ever had someone look me in the eye and say that about themselves. I felt so bad for her! And then I told her that I've been transitioning for 8 months and she says, "yeah, but your hair looks good." Weird thing is, from her pictures, it looks like we may have the same type of hair! I didn't even know what to say. I felt sorry for her.

Comments

• dont worry be curly!dont worry be curly! Registered Users Posts: 144
    awww! I feel so bad for her :sad1:. Some people just dont like the way they look with curly hair. That is very sad that she felt ugly, as much as I wish she would embrace her curls, hopefully she is just happy, ya know!
    ~~Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind. --Dr.Seuss

~~Don't cry because it's over smile because it happened.--Dr.Seuss:color:

We are all fools, whether we dance or not, so we might as well dance! :)
  • botticelli_girl922botticelli_girl922 Registered Users Posts: 896
    Aww :( Poor girl...It's so sad how the media convinces you that the only way you can be pretty is to have straight hair. Curls, waves and kinks are so, so gorgeous.

My sister (who has 2a-2b waves that are really cute), recently saw a friend who normally wears her hair straight wearing it curly. She told her, "Ohh, your curly hair is so cute! *I wish I had curly hair*. Yours is beautiful!" And the friend responded by saying, "Oh, thanks. Yeah, I was too lazy to straighten it this morning. We can trade if you want."