im sad today.

sweetmusic31sweetmusic31 Registered Users Posts: 19
i have been transitioning for about 2 months now, and i have about 2 and a half inches of natural hair. Well, yesterday i got my hair put into kinky twist, and the person who did my hair combed through my thick 4a new growth (ROUGHLY) with a 1cm toothed rat tail comb! i was about to scream! I told her to use a wider toothed comb, and she told me that combing my hair with that tiny comb was "the only way to get all those NAPS out." now my head is super sore, and i need some moral support . lol

Comments

• ShellyBeeShellyBee Registered Users Posts: 67
    Hahahaha, your moral support is here. I went to a braid shop, about three months ago, and the lady did the same exact thing. She didn't make a naps comment though. I swear, I was about to cry...but I toughed it out :cool: I guess the best thing is to just ride out the pain.
    **colored, shoulder length unstretched**
    last relaxer: January 26, 2009
    natural since: March 26, 2010
    transitioned for: 14 months
    4a/3c/3b; 16 & loving the natural me
    I Tweet:http://www.twitter.com/MissChelleBee
  • sweetmusic31sweetmusic31 Registered Users Posts: 19
    lol, im going to try my best!
  • kalanekalane Registered Users Posts: 424
    I got braids in July and my experience, though not as bad as yours, made me never want to step foot in another braid shop ever again. The ladies doing my hair were rude & their methods were painful (thank god I had already blow out my new growth before going in. What I can say to you is that in about a week the pain and bad memories go away and you're left witha beautiful head of hair.

Hope this helps!
    fotki twitter blog

event.png

In short, the characteristics of the powerful, whatever they may be, are thought to be better than the characteristics of the powerless – and logic has nothing to do with it.
    -- Gloria Steinem

• EkaetteEkaette Registered Users Posts: 356