Is it the product, the technique, or the cut?

RenocatRenocat Posts: 26Registered Users
Sorry this is very long lol

i have been having a series of bad hair days. Let me first say I am modified CG. I shampoo everyday with Girovanni 50/50 and usually use GTTT conditioner.

For the past few weeks, my hair has been limp, wouldn't hold a curl, looked stringy, and was almost impossible to scrunch out the crunch. It was so bad I was letting it dry straight because diffusing and scrunching weren't worth the end result. (I am a 2a, i think, if I let my hair air dry, it is straight with a few little waves and one corkscrew underneath. I only get good waves when i diffuse)

So, I was thinking I needed some protein so I picked up some giovanni smooth as silk protein conditioner. My hair seemed to like it but was still kinda tired looking.

I read the thread on hair being curlier when shorter and a lightbulb went off :idea: I have been growing my hair for about 18 months now. It has probably grown 6 inches in that time, i have only had a few trims to even things up. I thought, my hair has reached a point where it is too heavy/long and is pulling out the waves. So I had about an inch cut off last night. Couldn't tell how it would work because I had my hair straight yesterday.

Well, today, I shampooed, conditioned, put KMS curl up balm in my wet hair, combed that through (which i never comb through cuz i usually get stringlets) and then put some giovanni la natural gel and combed that through. Wrapped my hair in a towel(not a plop, i get weird crown action when i plop) and after about 15 minutes, I diffused.

OMG I have the best hair I have had in weeks, maybe months. Here's the pic
3855189599_a23a9a5564.jpg

I have minimal crunch, and bouncy waves!:blob2:

So after a very long winded explanation, do you think it is the product (protein and new gel), the technique (combing through) or the hair cut? I don't really care, I just hope I can do it again tomorrow!