If you like Nora Roberts... (need recs)

InfraredheadInfraredhead Posts: 335Registered Users
Yes, I admit it! I love trashy romance novels! I just finished another Nora Roberts book and was wondering if anyone had recs on other authors? I have also read quite a bit of Jayne Anne Krentz, but everything is getting so dang predictable. I know romance novels follow formulas, but I was looking for an author that wasn't so...formulaic? Hope that makes sense. I have read so many book reviews on Amazon that my head is starting to spin. Any other trashy romance authors that I should know about? :lovestory:
Mod CG since April of 2007.

Comments

  • lisasandlisasand Posts: 71Registered Users
    I have read mostly the Nora Robert's trilogy's...I like books with characters that continue on in some small way in another book. I have enjoyed books by Elizabeth Lowell. Especially the Donavan trilogy starting with "Amber Beach" and the medieval trilogy starting with "Untamed".
    Hair analysis results - medium texture, low porosity and normal elasticity.
    Shampoo: Giovanni tea tree triple treat
    Conditioner: Giovanni 50:50
    Co-wash: Suave naturals waterfall mist or wildcherry blossom
    Gel: Loving flax seed gel!
    Henna - yemeni henna and indigo from hennasooq
  • lisasandlisasand Posts: 71Registered Users
    Oh forgot to include this website that gives you similar books to the ones you like.

    http://www.similarauthors.com/
    Hair analysis results - medium texture, low porosity and normal elasticity.
    Shampoo: Giovanni tea tree triple treat
    Conditioner: Giovanni 50:50
    Co-wash: Suave naturals waterfall mist or wildcherry blossom
    Gel: Loving flax seed gel!
    Henna - yemeni henna and indigo from hennasooq
  • RebeccaKRebeccaK Posts: 305Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Infraredhead - If you like Nora Roberts, I think you'll like Susan Wiggs, too. Still predictable but in a slightly different way. =)

    Maeve Binchy, while not officially in the "Romance" category, is a nice easy read with the same feel.

    I love the trashy books too, but I'm super picky about the story lines. Usually the ones I like best are considered in the "contemporary" sub-category. Looking for books under that category might help you, too!

    lisasand - what a great website, I'm so glad I read this thread!

    ETA - this is another website that categorizes the books by "Blush Factor". Might also help you find some authors you'd like....

    http://www.likesbooks.com/kissburn.html
  • InfraredheadInfraredhead Posts: 335Registered Users
    Thank you Lisasand. Nice link and printing it out right now.

    RebeccaK...that website was fantastic. I could not stop laughing at "there may be strong use of euphemistic code words." :laughing7: I have never seen that before and had no idea there was a difference between different Harlequin series.

    Off to Amazon I go to shop!
    Mod CG since April of 2007.
  • RebeccaKRebeccaK Posts: 305Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Glad you liked it!

    Don't forget to check in at half.com - they often have much better book deals than amazon (if you're buying used, that is)
    Thank you Lisasand. Nice link and printing it out right now.

    RebeccaK...that website was fantastic. I could not stop laughing at "there may be strong use of euphemistic code words." :laughing7: I have never seen that before and had no idea there was a difference between different Harlequin series.

    Off to Amazon I go to shop!
  • BattleWitchBattleWitch Posts: 144Registered Users
    What about early Lori Foster? Too Much Temptation is still a comfort read when I need it, as are the Winston Brothers series, which I think was re-released.

    And there's no shame in loving romance novels. Trashy or otherwise. ;-)
    ___________________________________________
    Transitioning
    HGs:
    DB's Daily Leave-In, DB's Natural Coils Curling Jelly, DB's Avocado & Wild Plum Twisting Cream, Curl Junkies Smoothing Condish, CJ's Smoothing Gellie, Qhem Burdock Root Butter Cream, Alma & Olive Heavy Cream, Olive & Honey Hydrating Balm
  • InfraredheadInfraredhead Posts: 335Registered Users
    Adding Lori Foster to my next list. I just came back from Half Price Books with a small sack of trashy romance novels with authors from the links above. I forgot about Half.com! This is almost as bad as being a hair product junky! :thumbup:
    Mod CG since April of 2007.
  • NoraCurlNoraCurl Posts: 345Registered Users
    My mom actually named me after Nora Roberts:DIt's true because I'm always writing songs, stories, and poems/haikus. When I was 11, I was actually on TV for helping a family raise money by selling my books. They were for kids, though. I don't know why, but I only wrote 1 story since I turned 12. Now, I'm just creating computer wallpapers:tweety:Both me and my mom LOVE Nora Roberts. My personal favorite book by her is Once Upon A Rose.
    :toothy4::toothy4:
    "Smile...just do it.":angel11:

    3aMii, medium porosity, medium to low elasticity:color:

    Shampoo & Conditioner: HE Hydralicious Featherweight
    Styling: HETMS Spray Gel and Finishing Touch Cream
    DT: GF Triple Nutrition

  • automaticflowersautomaticflowers Posts: 3,465Registered Users
    You may like Tami Hoag. A lot of her more well-known books are suspense/thrillers, but with an erotic/romance element to them. She has quite a few strictly romance novels as well, though I haven't read them. Here's a link to everything she's written:

    http://www.randomhouse.com/bantamdell/tamihoag/collection.html

    The plot, setting, character development, etc. is all pretty important to me, and IMO Hoag delivers on those so it's not just her trying to find 800 different ways to say "penis." :lol:
  • angel29ishangel29ish Posts: 800Registered Users
    Great suggestions! I am in a reading lull right now and am desperate for new reads. I have read all of Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb books...always an enjoyable read. You may want to try the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. They are steamy, sassy, and laugh-out-loud funny. Plus, she has curly hair - lol.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]3B, fine, low/normal porosity
    CG - July 2009
    CO/RO/Trt.-Suave, BCB, Tigi OH & MM, EO, CJRehab, SG, DF & CF, Jasmine's, Bellacurl, SS, Darcy's, K-Pak, Shescentit, DE Coconut, MD, Oyin, JCWDT, CurlQ
    LI-GDLI, Abba PGC, CJRehab, CF,SG & BCLI, Jasmine's, Bellacurl, SS, Shescentit, DE Coconut, MD, Oyin
    Styler-FSG, Re:coil, CJCCCC lite & CIAB, Komaza CCP & CS, DB, BRHG, Joiwhip/gel, Ecostyler, Boots, SS, Gel-les'c, DMMCG, KCSS
    Too many others to list!
  • CurlyHairedFarmerCurlyHairedFarmer Posts: 3,079Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
    Elizabeth Lowell, Heather Graham, Laurie Breton, Mariah Stewart, and Tami Hoag are all good.
    Currently Loving:
    Shampoo: Giovanni 50:50

    Conditioners - CJ Strengthening, CJ Beauticurls Argan and Olive Oil, CJ Rehab, CJ Curl Fix

    Leave-in: CJ Smoothing

    Deep Conditioner: CJ Hibiscus and Banana Deep Fix

    Stylers - Tigi Curls Rock Amplifier, AG:Recoil, KCCC, Mop-C Curling Cream, Paul Mitchell Sculpting foam
  • CafeAuLaitCafeAuLait Posts: 218Registered Users
    Sandra Brown's are similar to her's. I went through a romance phase several years ago. Actually, I don't consider either author to be romance per se because they're found in the fiction section of the libraries and bookstores I've frequented. I don't know what I'd call them then.. Guess I've just been trained to think of them as straight fiction. Brown's books have more involved plots than Nora Robert's.

    I think of romance books as those thin little paperbacks that usually belong to huge series.
    Formerly ElsaG
  • MimsTXMimsTX Posts: 3,482Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    If you like Nora Roberts (<3) AND Janet Evanovich (double <3) definitely check out Jennifer Cruisie.

    Fantastic characters in her stories... and they're a little sarcastic/witty in a way that other romances never seem to quite grasp. I love them to pieces. "Bet Me" and "Faking It" are my favs.

    Cecelia Ahern (wrote P.S. I love you) is supposed to be great too but I haven't had a chance to read anything of hers yet :/

    If you're sci-fi/fantasy oriented (I love Nora Robert's Morrigan's cross series, for example) Laurel K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series might be good. Vampires, werewolves, romance, etc. Lots of sexual tension, tons of action. Very nice.
    CG/Mod CG (soap bars) since 8/12/08
    CO wash/Cond: Kathymack & Flowermoon Castille soap bars, V05 Chamomile Tea, Suave Ocean Breeze, Biolage Conditioning Balm
    Styling loves: DIFFUSING! CK, KCNT, KCCC, FOTE (on dry hair only), Re:coil, Proclaim gel
    Not sure about: Boots, Tweek, KBB Milk, DMHJ
    HATE: plopping, FOTE on wet hair, BRHG
  • RacerWife7RacerWife7 Posts: 895Registered Users Curl Novice
    Oooh! I have to check some of these authors out! I'm an avid J.D. Robb / Nora Roberts fan. ...Actually, I'm reading "Indulgence In Death" right now. And before that I read "Happy Ever After" (I LOVE the Brides Quartet and I hope she continues it!).

    Thanks for the suggestions!
    Janet ~ Northern NJ
    Properties: Dense, Fine, Low Porosity, Low Elasticity
    My Picasa Album
    What I used in this photo:
    Cleansing: Suave Tropical Coconut Condish
    Conditioner: CJ Smoothing Condish
    Styling: CJCQ
    th_d963586e.jpg
  • kat180kat180 Posts: 6,280Registered Users Curl Novice
    I don't know Nora Roberts, but if you're looking for trashy romance novels, try Judith McNaught. I have been guilty of reading a few of hers while I am in the right frame of mind :)

    Be prepared for: the Damsel in distress heroine (who is always feisty however, and different from other girls), and dark brooding, misunderstood gigantic men who have tempers but are romantics at heart and are always always amazing in bed (of course).

    I mean, if thats you cup of tea ;)

Leave a Comment

BoldItalicStrikethroughOrdered listUnordered list
Emoji
Image
Align leftAlign centerAlign rightToggle HTML viewToggle full pageToggle lights
Drop image/file