Help Does flat ironing(straighten) mess up the curl pattern?

KDionneKDionne Posts: 197Registered Users
How often can i straighten my hair without messing up my curl pattern or damaging my hair? (I straighten 2times a month it lasts a week)
event.png
http://members.fotki.com/KDionn3/about/
Amo mis rizos. Love Your Curls :love5:I do! 3C front/4A back

Comments

• pumkinpumkin Posts: 39Registered Users
    i dont know how often u can straighten w/o it messing it up, but i can tell u that it sure does effect it. i had been straightening regularly for about a year and my hair went from a 3a/3b to a barely 2. the back is coming back now(havent touched a flat irom for 2 months) but the front and sides are almost straight. i just keep cutting away:(.
  • heartofcurlsheartofcurls Posts: 215Registered Users
    I have the same problem. I've been straightening my hair for 2 years and the front sides are straight and frizzy, but the back looks good. I almost hate to wear my curls.
    Co wash: GTTT Conditioner
    Rinse out: G 50:50 or GVPCB
    Leave In: GDLI
    Gel: KCCC and LA Looks Sport
    My HG is Pink Boots!
  • burgundy_locksburgundy_locks Posts: 2,420Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    the more your straighten, the less curly- more frizzy your hair becomes. i say this from personal experience. i was straightening for like 2 years just like you, twice a month because my hair last straight for 2 weeks without needing any touch up. last year my hair was so gross that i NEEDED to just always keep it straight. then in Feb i decided to stay curly. since then, ive straighten my hair maybe 5 times at most! more like 3 times. i try to nourish it back to health but it wasnt possible. i got it to curl a bit, but by the end of the day, the curls would just fall out and look stick straight- and not the nice looking straight. in May (i think) i decided to BC and cut off 11 inches. now my hair is sooo healthy and it curls! :)
    para los gustos se hicieron los colores