New & Trying to figure out my type!

sarahbellemsarahbellem Posts: 3Registered Users
Hi everyone, I am new to the whole CG phenomenon, and googling it brought me here... Yesterday, a friend, with very similar hair to mine, recommended Curly Girl to me saying that I should read the section for wavy girls and that it would change what I thought about my hair (she pegged me right away as a wavy after she saw me lamely trying to fluff my hair, getting sick of it and propmtly putting it back in a ponytail).

So, I think I've got a handle on the hair types... I just am not entirely sure where I fall on the wavy spectrum. All my life I've treated my hair as a "straight", despite the obvious wave... But when everyone in your family has corkscrew curls except you, it's easy to write yourself off as not a curly person (my mom and sister both have the CURLY hair... My mom has been ironing and blowdrying her hair straight for decades whereas my sister's head is an explosion of glorious ringlets and, OMG, am I jealous!)

My hair, when I let it air dry, has a lot of body. It even goes so far as to produce the occassional actual curl if the conditions are right (my bangs are notorious for curling if I don't blow dry them, where as the rest of my hair opts for the lazy S curve). But I look at the pictures of Type 2's and see actual curls, which is something I don't have much of. In fact, my hair won't hold a curl if I put it there... It just slides right out, unless I set it overnight. I've always defined my hair as fine, but I have a lot of it, which makes air drying it an hours-long ordeal. But if I do completely let it air dry it becomes a lot more pronounced in the waviness. Still, no full-on curl action, though.

So, here's a picture... My hair as it usually appears after being blow dried: http://static.flickr.com/69/165456495_6b211f7b8d.jpg?v=0

Can't you just see the wave dying to break free, or am I really a 1 and should just deal with the disappointment?

Comments