Brushing wavy hair

csbcsb Posts: 225Registered Users
No, I'm not a newbie. Yes, I know that brushing is terrible for curls. It's also terrible for straight hair (causes breakage, chips away at the cuticle, etc.). I'm just tired of trying to make my hair into something else. My hair is wavy. I can make it 3a with lots of products and diffusing, and if I don't touch it. (Frankly, it feels so icky with that much product that I don't want to touch it.) I can make it straight with curlers or a straightening iron.

But I'm really a wavy. My waves look really nice, shiny and frizz-free if I use products with cones and brush them. If I let it dry naturally, even using curl-friendly products, it's an undefined frizz ball. I can actually make my hair look like those models and celebrities using cones, a hairdryer, and a brush, so why shouldn't I? Am I really a bad person?

Comments

• DolphinCurlsDolphinCurls Posts: 370Registered Users
    Most people don't like brushing because it pulls out the curl. For me if I brush my hair and let it dry, it dries practically straight. It makes me wonder that if you didn't brush that your hair might actually be curlier than you say. But if it works for you, go for it.
    3A/2C combination of ringlets and waves :nike:
  • SystemSystem Posts: 39,059 Administrator
    Am I really a bad person?

How can that possibly be? Do whatever makes you and your hair happiest.
  • funkymunkycurlfunkymunkycurl Posts: 83Registered Users
    If you like your hair better by using products with cones and brushing it, do it. No one is going to say you are a bad person for it. Good for you for doing what makes you happy and feel good.
    Formerly known as colomunky.
  • DancingbadgerDancingbadger Posts: 136Registered Users