1 Year or More...

VainityVainity Posts: 110Registered Users
If you have reached your 1 year mark of transitioning and are continuing to transition - please tell me what styles you are wearing your hair in, considering we are on the verge of summer. I am looking to glean tips from those who are currently in my situation and maybe you can do the same.

I am currently alternating between a daily side bun, flat twists and flat twist outs.
My main products include virgin coconut oil, Shea Moisture Leave In, Giovanni Direct Leave In and Shealoe.

I am trying to hold out until the end of summer.
Last Relaxer: May 8, 2008
BC: May 27, 2009
My Picasa Album

Comments

• onethousandcurlsonethousandcurls Posts: 1,118Registered Users
    I've been transitioning for a little over 13 months. I treat my hair as though it were all curly, and when it's dry and I've SOTC-ed, I pull into a loose messy bun. From the front it looks all curly, from the back it looks mostly straight/wavy. I've been using little metal jaw clips to pull back the shorter front pieces, since they don't squish the curl and taking it out and putting it back in as I adjust through the day doesn't "ruin" my curls or cause frizz and it's easy. Plus I think they're cute. I have them in gold an silver, but I've seen plastic (I think the metal are more durable) in different colors.

I'll probably keep bunning into summer, as I've always preferred to keep my hair off my neck.

I've also done quite a bit of french braiding, which I love, and I've also done an inverted french braid which is really cute! I either braid all the way down (one braid) or I braid until the nape of my neck and then bun what's left (which I prefer). I've also done two french braids and pulled the ends of both into one bun at my neck, and I've gotten compliments on that.
    3b/c, CG 9/18/08
    Last process: 04/05/08 Big Chop: 08/08/09