Stretching 3c Underlayer

Curly CanuckCurly Canuck Registered Users Posts: 37
My hair is 3b on top and 3c underneath (aka: the underlayer.) The problem with this is that the 3b hangs longer than the 3c, so it looks like I have sparse, see thru hair - or no hair underneath. When really the problem is just that the 3c hair is tightly coiled and the 3b hair hangs longer and looser.

What are some techniques for stretching the 3c underlayer so my hair looks fuller? I've been smoothing gel on my hair (a modified shingling because i don't make that many sections) but that's still not lengthening the 3c hair.
i'm new to this whole curly thing and slowly learning to be a better Curly Girl!!
Type 3B/c
M ii/iii
Shoulder length curly - BSL straight

Comments

• curlyjenncurlyjenn Registered Users Posts: 590 Curl Connoisseur
    I've got the same problem. The only thing that's helped me at all so far is to rake my product through the underneath, then flip over and scrunch the canopy. It still doesn't work all that well. I have to grow the underlayer really long and cut the top layer so that it hangs a little more even.
    I'm a 3b, with 3c underneath.
    I'm a product junkie. <3
  • spiderlashes5000spiderlashes5000 Registered Users Posts: 17,898 Curl Virtuoso
    Do you diffuse? When you do, pin the 3b hair out of the way, and gently stretch the 3c hair under the hair dryer (diffuser). Don't hold it longer than 30 seconds at a time or it may get too straight. (I sometimes have to stretch a few clumps in the front because they curl a lot shorter than the rest.)

• Curly CanuckCurly Canuck Registered Users Posts: 37
    I tried a few things and got decent stretching results so i wanted to share.