Wavy girl growing her hair out from boot-camp-short cut

henchpersonhenchperson Posts: 67Registered Users
I've been pretending to have straight hair for nearly 20 years. And I've kept it short for a long time, too. I describe my hair as "can't make up it's mind" between straight and curly, but the fact is, my hair is wavy.
So as I'm growing it out - it's up to 5" measured from the scalp right now, which is the longest it's been in three years - I'm trying to be nice to it. No parabens, no 'cones, no heat treatements, no flatiron anymore. But because of the length, I can't just let it curl. I end up looking like I stuck my finger in a lightsocket. I know "bedhead" is in, but it looks crazy when I let it all just airdry. So at the moment, I section my hair when it's wet and pin it back with hair-friendly hairpins. When it dries - ta-da! Straight(ish) hair. I'm guessing that I'll need to do this a little bit longer, until my hair gets long enough that waves don't make it stand straight up in the air.
Here's my routine for the moment: wash with Aubrey GPB (or whatever the initials are, I can never remember) or with California Baby Tea Tree/Lavender shampoo every other day. Condition with Aubrey conditioner. On days when I don't wash or condition, I use a baking soda/water combo rubbed into my hair that's rinsed out with an ACV mixture. After wash (or non-wash), I wrap my hair in a microfiber towel while it's still soaking, put it up in a turban and get dressed, do makeup, etc. Then take off the turban, spray in some of the Aubrey leave-in conditioner/detangler, and do the pins. Strangely enough, takes me half the time of my old blow dry and then flatiron routine.