Braids Vs Buns

Curly_MichikoCurly_Michiko Registered Users Posts: 29
Which do you think is better when you're growing out your hair or retaining more moisture? Do you know any pros and cons for both methods? And what products do you use for them? Thank you!

Comments

• afrikurlafrikurl Registered Users Posts: 736
    I am a self proclaimed braid expert. I have worn braids or some version of them most of my life. I don't have much information in regards to the bun.

With braids you can keep your hair moisturized with braid spray or a homemade spritz (I use aloe vera, glycerine from walgreens and water). The last time I wore braids was after I had been introduced to this website so I was concerned about moisture and keeping my scalp clean. I would occasionally rub in some leave in, in a downward motion to avoid frizz. and what I believe made the biggest difference, I co washed every 3-4 weeks. I rebraided the front a few days after each co wash to keep them looking fresh. I would say the down side to braids is that you can't feel or see the status of your hair. You just have to kinda have a routine.

I believe the bonus for buns is that you can know when you hair needs more moisture instead of applying a conditioner every couple of days because you think you need it. You can wash or co wash whenever without worry of frizz and my favorite thing is that if you have the urge to see your hair and put your fingers up there to feel your wonderful texture, you can.
  • Curly_MichikoCurly_Michiko Registered Users Posts: 29
    Did you wear cornrows? B/c I was just going to do like a braid-out or something. Oh man, to constantly spray your hair, I'd probably get lazy with that lol. So would you say the braids helped you retain more moisture?
  • Wild Curls Raquelle Wild Curls Raquelle Registered Users Posts: 793 Curl Neophyte