I need help with 4 y/o's hair!

momtocurlygurlmomtocurlygurl Registered Users Posts: 2
My daughter is 4 and I'm guessing her hair type is 2a (I'm new to all this). My hair is straight so I have no clue what to do with her hair. It's very fine, tangles easy and is prone to frizz. I've tried mousses and leave-ins but they weigh her hair down. She also doesn't like much done to her hair. Thanks for any help.

Comments

• rainshowerrainshower Registered Users Posts: 4,420
    My daughter is 4 and I'm guessing her hair type is 2a (I'm new to all this). My hair is straight so I have no clue what to do with her hair. It's very fine, tangles easy and is prone to frizz. I've tried mousses and leave-ins but they weigh her hair down. She also doesn't like much done to her hair. Thanks for any help.

1. is her hair long enough to put in 2 ponytails? if so, i'd shampoo her hair with a mild shampoo and conditioner and detangle with a wide-tooth comb while it is still wet with conditioner. rinse well. part her hair down the middle from the forehead to the nape of her neck. then gently brush her hair into two neat plaited pony tails. use the no-snag elastics. if her hair unravels easily, buy plastic snap barrettes to secure her ends to keep her plaits in place. because you style her hair this way on already detangled hair, this should keep the majority of her hair free from tangles.

2. get a 4-ounce spray bottle that mists. put approximately half an ounce of detangling conditioner in the bottle and fill the rest with water. shake well to blend it. what you'll have is a spray that you can use when you don't feel like washing her hair, but her hair needs detangling and freshening up. there is just enough conditioner to ease the tangles a part, but not enough to weigh down her hair or attract lint. but you can always adjust the amount of conditioner you use if you find that half an ounce is too heavy for her texture.