Sweet curly headed baby

NolamamaNolamama Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi,
My daughter is 18 mos old and bi-racial. She has beautiful curly hair but I have NO experience with hair like hers. I would like to find a kid friendly product that will help keep it moisturized and relatively tangle free.

She complains bitterly whenever I try to comb it even when I am very careful about not tugging. I am struggling with my mindset about how to care for hair because I realize that her hair and my hair need different attention. Any advice that might be out there would be much appreciated.

Thanks a bunch!
Eleanor

Comments

• doonedoone Registered Users Posts: 14
    Hi Eleanor,
    My daughter is also biracial and curly! Fortunately, I am curly too, so that helped me a bit, although her hair is much curlier and a different texture than mine.

The main thing to keep in mind is that her hair needs lots of moisture to keep it healthy and reduce frizz. When my daughter was younger, we used California Baby conditioner, avaiable at Target. I apply the conditioner in the bath, let it sit for a couple of minutes and then comb through with a wide-tooth comb, being careful to hold the hair close to the scalp so not to pull. My daughter still complains every time, but we get through it. I would also suggest a leave-in conditioner. We just used the California Baby as a leave-in also. Some baths I would rinse it out and others I would just leave it in. I tried the spray-on detangler from Johnson and Johnson, but I think the ingredients were too drying to her hair. I ditched those in favor of a leave-in conditioner.