Poo Confused

Hello, I am new to the whole concept of no shampooing but it is very interesting. I currently use Matrix Biolage Nourishing shampoo and Detangler and Matrix Gellee. How do I know if a gel has no silicones in it? Can anyone recommend a goo drugstore conditioner and gel to do the CO method?

Comments

• BoomygrrlBoomygrrl Registered Users Posts: 4,940 Curl Neophyte
    I'm pretty sure Matrix is full of cones.
    A good conditioner is VO5 Kiwi Lime. Gels= Herbal Essences.
    That's right, I said it! I wear scrunchies!!

I am a sulfate washing, cone slabbing, curly lovin' s.o.b. The CG police haven't caught me yet.
    :blob8:

3a/3b
  • BoomygrrlBoomygrrl Registered Users Posts: 4,940 Curl Neophyte
    If you go the no-cone (no poo) route, you might need to shampoo with a clarifying shampoo once before you get started, to make sure all the cones are out. Then, you can CO wash from then on.
    That's right, I said it! I wear scrunchies!!

I am a sulfate washing, cone slabbing, curly lovin' s.o.b. The CG police haven't caught me yet.
    :blob8:

3a/3b
  • LouisianaLeighLouisianaLeigh Registered Users Posts: 211
    To answer your question about how to tell...read the ingredient lists until your eyes cross! there's a couple lists of sulfates and 'cones floating around the boards. i printed one out the first time i went CG-shopping! or you can watch signatures from people who list themselves as CG and see what products they are using. but it never hurts to double-check for yourself. sometimes formulas change. HTH!
    wurly, fine to medium, currently growing for waist-length
    embracing the waves since 10/20/08
    my hair loves protein and hates jojoba oil, my scalp hates propylene glycol, my face hates silicones.
  • LikeAustraliaLikeAustralia Registered Users Posts: 2,812