I never did a BC--Is That Wrong?

AuNaturaleAuNaturale Registered Users Posts: 61
Hello All (and I apologize, in advance, for the long post),

I am fairly new to the natural hair boards and, prior to me joining them, I was not familiar with the concept of doing a BC when transitioning to natural. Here is part of my hair history, which will hopefully explain my ignorance.

I have very curly hair that is a 3b/3c mix (well, that's my best guess from the charts I've seen online...I have at least two textures on my head). However, growing up, I didn't realize how curly my hair actually was because my mother typically combed out my hair out and pulled into a bun or ponytail. When I took over doing my own hair, I just copied what she did. I didn't know I had actual defined curls until much later down the road.

Anyway, growing up, I was dying to have straight hair that would last longer than when pressed with a hot comb (which would only be for a day, lol). My mother told me the only way to achieve that look is to get a relaxer which she would not permit until I started high school. (In retrospect, I wish she never would have given in to me. )