Hair Type & a few questions

report2courtreport2court Posts: 5Registered Users
I'm new to naturallycurly.com and the CG method, but after reading about all the success stories I decided to give it a go. I tried full CG, but my hair got really greasy at the scalp so I decided modified CG was for me.

My hair is really damaged from being thinned, highlighted, straightened, etc. (I have REALLY thick, dry, coarse hair). I have lost some of the curl I used to have and I think it is because I haven't been taking good care of my hair.

Here is my most recent pic of me with curly hair (yesterday). I used Avalon Organics Tea Tree Scalp Treatment shampoo, Suave conditioner, KY jelly, and LOOB. This is the most tame I've seen my frizz/poof in a while. It's not as shiny as it looks in the pictures.

My questions:
What hair type do you think I am?
Will I have to wait for new hair growth before I start seeing healthy results with the CG method?
Do I have potential for more curl? (My underneath curls are more like spirals and the top is barely wavy)
2c/3a, VERY THICK, Coarse hair
My Hair needs LOTS of MOISTURE!

Current Routine

Co-wash: VO5 Strawberries 'n Cream
Condition: Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose
Style: KY Jelly & LOOB, plop for 10 mins & let air dry

Deep Conditioning Treatment:
Honey & EVOO & conditioner (done twice since going CG)

CG since October 2008

Comments

• LoloDSMLoloDSM Posts: 3,778Registered Users
    Hi, and welcome!

Right now your hair looks 2B/2C to me with some definite curls underneath. My top layer started out wavy when I first went CG and then it got curlier as my hair got healthier.

You may not need to wait months for your hair to get curlier but it really depends on how damaged it is. I straigthened mine for years at the highest heat level. I think my ends are permenantly ruined because my hair is much curlier at the top. It took about three months for me to see real improvement.