Jheri Curl.....*#&*$#

Rayjay864Rayjay864 Registered Users Posts: 2
I'm biracial guy (black/white) and have 3b/3c hair, and I've been sporting my curly hair for the past 5 years. I just grew tired of having really short hair it was straight and boring. Now my hair resembles a lot like corbin blue(I had it before he did!!). But there is just a few things that just make me so angry!!!

Black people can be so hateful and mean sometimes. The dont see it as curly hair no but Jheri Curls! That is just a huge insult to me my hair is not a greasy chemical mess of a head, doesn't look wet and just does not resemble it in any way...that or they just look at me and as soon as my back is to them they laugh hysterically and I know its about my hair.

On the other hand white people just love it!! lol

Comments

• mariag002mariag002 Registered Users Posts: 3,557 Curl Neophyte
    Well when I first cut my hair and had it styled curly the first negative comment I received was "did you get a jherri curl?"

You'll have to ignore people and do what is good for you, regardless of whether they are black or white. My son is biracial too and he sports an afro and his cousins make fun of him, but he doesn't care and he just does what makes him happy.

I notice that whites love the whole big hair, bushy hair look. Maybe it looks exotic, I have no idea. We people of color have this obession with jherri curls and we don't necessarily embrace that curly look on guys too much.
    - Maria

Big Chop: 9/23/07
    Relaxer free for almost 5 years!

• ninja dogninja dog Registered Users Posts: 23,780 Curl Neophyte
    I'm white and I don't have experience with this exact scenario, but it sure sounds mean-spirited on the part of others. Good for you for wearing your hair the way you like it, regardless of other people's limited perspectives.
  • Jess2316Jess2316 Registered Users Posts: 617