Public Speaking

badgercurlsbadgercurls Posts: 3,077Registered Users
How do you feel about public speaking? If you want to, elaborate on why you feel that way. Does your job require public speaking? Do you speak publically in your personal life?

I'm curious because I'm currently teaching an intro-level college public speaking course. (I'm a grad student/teaching assistant in communications). My students will deliver their first speeches on Monday, and I can tell that many of them are terrified. Hopefully, the course will help them get over their fears and become more comfortable with public speaking.

To answer my own questions, I am one of those odd people who actually enjoys public speaking. In some ways, I'm more comfortable speaking in front of groups than I am speaking in a one-on-one conversation. I still get nervous right before I speak, but I can usually channel that nervousness in a positive way to enhance my performance. My current academic/professional career certainly requires a LOT of public speaking. Not only do I have to speak in front of my students for two hours three times a week, but I will also be required to make presentations throughout my career as a graduate student. I'm glad that I enjoy public speaking, because if I didn't, being a grad student would be a very unpleasant experience!
Failed to load the poll.
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• MzShvyMzShvy Posts: 121Registered Users
    When I was in high school I had to take Public Speaking, and it was AWFUL. I would be on the verge of tears, because I hated it so much and I would be so nervous. Now it doesn't make me a nervous wreck, but I still don't like it. If I have to, I'll do it, but I definitley don't volunteer.
    MzShvy

"If we get a little crazy, blame it on the alcohol." Pat Green
  • LayaliLayali Posts: 561Registered Users Curl Connoisseur