Does anyone else make their own serums, etc.?

Curly Girl FlaCurly Girl Fla Posts: 1,834Registered Users Curl Connoisseur
I made 3 different variations of Vit C serum + , and my skin seems to like what I've thrown together. I also enjoy the "creating" part-I know, geeky at heart:geek:...I use C twice a day-everyone here recommends a.m. only, but other sites say twice daily, and I like using my water-based one at night before retin-a. During the day, I use an anhydrous mix that simply uses the Monistat Anti-chaffing gel as a base, and this doubles as a MMU primer. I've never used a primer before, and still not completely sold on silicone on my face, but it's working. I also have mixed C and other ingred's in seakelp bioferment. That may end up as my staple since I love the kelp, but I need to do a SAS order. Granted, I never tried PSF Vit C, and I probably will eventually, but it's fun to play with the cheap ingredients...even more so when nothing blows up (or breaks out!). I also have salicylic acid and niacinamide powder ready to go for a BHA serum (want to get lactic acid, too) once my PSF BHA 5% is done.... I would love to know if anyone else has experimented?

Comments

• oethereal1oethereal1 Posts: 327Registered Users
    oooh, oooh, i made vitamin c serum recently. i have next to no money at the moment and most of the ingredients were already in my closet, so it was most cost effective.

i looked all over the internet and found a recipe i liked and stuck it together. i really do like it, it's definitely doing something, i swear my skin looks different (in a good way).

i'm not sure i'll be making much else - my skin is very dry and i'm afraid to use to many acids and exfoliators, etc. but if this stuff continues to work successfully i may see if i can cook up the next thing i decide i need...
  • KurlyKarenLeeKurlyKarenLee Posts: 1,048Registered Users
    Where are ya'll getting your Vit. C cheap and what % is it?
    KurlyKarenLee