What am I doing wrong???

cclark1cclark1 Registered Users Posts: 346
I have been transitioning for 4 months now. I have a good amount of new growth. I still visit a natural hair stylist every 2-3 weeks to deep condition to really take care of my hair as I transition.I usually just pre-poo (coconut oil), wash (gentle moisturizing shampoo), condition twice and then deep conditioner with coconut oil and castor oil and honey. And tie into a bun. But I noticed that this week when I washed I had more breakage than usual. Not handfuls. But it was breakage and my normal shedding. I keep my hair moisturized daily with Jane Carter leave-in conditioner and castor oil/coconut oil mix. I just don't know what could be the problem. HELP!!!
Dare to be......remarkable!!!

Comments

• spiderlashes5000spiderlashes5000 Registered Users Posts: 17,898 Curl Virtuoso
    I would stop shampooing and stop using castor oil.

I've never used Jane Carter conditioner (though I plan to try it eventually) so I can't comment on that. But you're saying every time you wet your hair you shampoo, condition twice and then deep condition??? How often are you doing that? I'd suggest a lower maintenance routine like co-washing with a Suave or Vo5 conditioner and conditioning with a moisturizing conditioner that lots of people have had good results with (Elucence, Regis DL Olive Oil, TJ Nourish, Aubrey HSR, [buylink=http://www.curlmart.com/CURLS-Curls-Milkshake-p-884.html?utm_source=naturallycurly.com&utm_medium=text-link&utm_content=curltalk-post-text&utm_campaign=Curls-Curls-Milkshake]Curls Milkshake[/buylink], etc.)

Also how are you making and securing your buns? Rubber bands? Srunchie? Braid and bobby pin? I'm not sure how you're doing your buns, if/how you're combing/brushing, if/how you're drying, etc.?

• Flower princessFlower princess Registered Users Posts: 608
    Do you warm the oil ?Some people that do hot oil treatments use to have such problems maybe that's the false.