baking soda needed with very hard water?

Hello! I'm new to no-poo, thick and wavy with a few ringlets on the neck and pretty straight & coarse at the crown. I did no-poo for a little over a week, but then read some of the stuff on 'cones, which all my products had, so I had to start over--I was getting buildup and it wasn't pretty. So I'm reading about some people doing a CO with light conditioner at roots and normal for the length (but neither has cones), and others are doing a baking soda with ACV rinse.

Does the CO leave your natural oils? That's kind of what I'm trying to experiment with, and I'm okay with my hair being slightly greasy-looking for a while (I'm in the middle of exams so everyone looks like that :P), so I don't want to start taking the oils out, but just distributing them down the shaft of the hair. (Does that make sense?)

Also, does the baking soda leave some oils in there? I live in a red zone (highest amount) for hard water, which is high in alkali, which is the same thing that makes baking soda clean the hair, so do I even need to do the baking soda? And if I don't, do I do conditioner first, and then ACV, or what? Or could I just go with water and a brushing routine, with conditioner on the ends as needed?

Before I had to start over, I was doing water only with lots of combing and brushing, and then did an ACV rinse which made it worse (probably because of the 'cones). My hair looked good from the ears down, but the top was a frizzy greasy mess.

I guess I'm just confused about how the two styles of no-poo (CO and all-natural) meet. I know I'm going to have to experiment with it, but I'm hoping I can figure out where's the best place to start when I rinse my hair tomorrow.

Comments

• darkBlondiedarkBlondie Posts: 84Registered Users