Dry dry hair

I just started the shampoo-less routine a few days ago. Since I am living in mainland China right now, it was extremely difficult to find a conditioner without silicones in it, but I managed to pick up a bottle of Freeman Papaya and Lime condish the other day (for almost $10 USD, ACK). First I clarified, then used that conditioner, the next day I co-washed and used brown sugar to scrub my scalp, and today I used water only to wash my hair. I was really surprised to find that today my hair feels extremely dry, more so than it does when I used to use shampoo alone (which was not that often!). The curl formation is great and my hair appears pretty shiny, but it's very dry to the touch. Is this because I am just discovering how much I have damaged my hair over the years using harsh shampoos, or because there is something in my new conditioner (i.e. proteins) that is drying our my hair? Since I'm new to this I'm not really sure how my hair is supposed to feel when it's completely product free.

For reference, here is the ingredient list on my conditioner:

Water, Cetyl Alcohol, Carica Papaya fruit extract, Lime Fruit extract, Coconut extract, Kelp extract, Panthenol, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Polysorbate 60, Stearalkonium Chloride, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG-75 Lanolin, DMDM Hydantoin, Propylene Glycol, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Citronellol, Geraniol, Limonene, Fragrance.

Comments

• kdcreighkdcreigh Posts: 736Registered Users
    Could be because your conditioner has a shampoo ingredient in it - cocamidopropyl betaine is used as a mild cleanser in many shampoos.
    YES WE CAN!

kdcreigh 4a and b (who knows?:dontknow:)

Relegated to occasional lurking in order to keep the PJ in check!
    :lurk:

http://public.fotki.com/kdcreigh/
    PW: natural
  • agent_003bdagent_003bd Posts: 142Registered Users