Question for weight lifters

alisons79alisons79 Registered Users Posts: 680
So I've been doing pyramid style weight lifting for a few months. I started out with Body For Life and I'm sticking with it! So I don't feel like I'm 'doing' Body For Life anymore since it was a lifestyle change.

Anyway, my question is this....am I going to "top out" at some point? What I mean is, I know that as a female I only have so much muscle I can build so am I going to get to a point where I just can't lift anymore weight? Is there anything (other than steroids and anything else illegal) that I can do to to prevent this? I don't want to set myself up for disappointment thinking that one day I will be doing dead lifts with the 50's if it's not possible but I also don't want to get to a point where I am permanently plateaued (is that evena word? :) )

Suggestions?

ETA: Has anyone here heard of/used CLA? I got some at GNC and the woman there was telling me about how using it helps your body metabolize fat. I have been taking it for a couple weeks and I have noticed that my abs are becoming more defined. I haven't changed anything in my ab routine so I know it's not attributed to that. Just wondering if anyone else has heard of this stuff.
3A/3B
I love Jessicurl HCC, Jessicurl Too Shea, KCKT, KCCC, CK and HESMU...but it took a LOT of trial error to get to these products that consistently work for ME.

Comments

• SnarlsSnarls Registered Users Posts: 2,537
    Is your goal to lift as heavy as you can?

From what I understand, the best way to get out of plateaus and keep gaining strength is to mix it up, and give your muscles adequate recovery time. So lift heavy for a few months, then take a break and do light with lots of reps. Then go back to heavy. Or put down the weights and do body weight exercises or kettlebells for a while, then go back to the weights.