Looking for color treatment...

Jeannie_LJeannie_L Posts: 73Registered Users
Ok, I have been transitioning for about two years now. My hair is all natural, virgin. I was thinking of coloring but was afraid of making it dry again from when I used to relax. Can anybody recommend any kind of color products made for our type of hair? I was at the beauty supply this week and asked one of the girls for help. I eventually left the store empty-handed after hearing her confusing stories about bleaching my dark hair versus applying color to dark hair. Help!

Comments

• BrioBrio Posts: 1,432Registered Users
    Hi Jeannie.

I'm a little confused. Do you still have some relaxed hair? If you do, two chemical processes is rough on your hair. You might want to wait until it's all grown out. That would probably be the safest thing.

Also, what are you hoping to accomplish with hair color? Are you covering gray? Do you want to go lighter? If yes, how much?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Frizz Happens!
    my Fotki hair journey/experiment diary PW is brio (and I really need to update it!)

3A hair; coloring with henna/indigo since July 2009; normally follow the CG method. Still searching for my HG products!
  • Jeannie_LJeannie_L Posts: 73Registered Users
    No, every strand is virgin. I have been transitioning for 2 years so far. My last cut was about 7 months ago. I was planning on going a little lighter than my natural base but not too much. Highlights might do it but I don't want to bleach. Still not sure what to do yet. :cheese:
  • CurliLocksCurliLocks Posts: 10,573Registered Users Curl Connoisseur