First prenatal appt question

Brown_Eyed_GirlBrown_Eyed_Girl Registered Users Posts: 1,353 Curl Neophyte
Did you all set up a consultation appointment first that was separate from the first prenatal appointment?

I have my first prenatal appt on Friday with an ob-gyn I was referred to by the women's center at the university where I'm a grad student. The doctor at the women's center was really supportive of my wanting natural childbirth, and referred me to this ob-gyn for that reason. But she said that if this ob-gyn didn't seem to be what I wanted, to come back, and she would refer me to someone else.

So, my question is, do you know if the ob-gyn will be expecting me to ask questions about her birthing philosophy at this appointment? The nurse at the women's center set up the appointment, and now I'm not sure what she told the ob-gyn's office.

As you can probably tell, I've never been through this before, so TIA!

Comments

• iris427iris427 Registered Users Posts: 6,002
    It doesn't matter what the ob-gyn is expecting. You're the one paying her. It's her job to answer all questions you have about the type of medical care you can expect from her. If she didn't, it would violate medical ethics and the law.

So don't feel bad about asking a lot of questions. If you want a natural childbirth, finding a provider who shares your philosophy and is willing to work with you is one of the most important things you can do. You want to find out NOW if this doctor is not a good fit for you. You don't want to discover that in your third trimester or in the delivery room.