How long is too long??

I've been growing my hair out for 3 years now. It was a chin-length bob and now it's an inch or two past BSL. (Woo hoo!)

But now my hair is ridiculously heavy and thick and I'm afraid I'm getting bad hippy hair. It's not clumping right and it's so heavy that the curl doesn't want to stay.

I've started plopping so that's helped a lot but I'm wondering if I just need to take off some of the length (2-4 inches.) It would still be really long, like I prefer, but maybe a little more manageable... not to mention I clog the shower drain weekly.

Do you feel like your hair has a "limit" at which it starts to look sloppy or unkempt? (Or creepy even?)
Thanks curlies!!!
Mid-back length 3a, red.
Currently using: Joico, Redken, LA Looks Curl Look gel, BRHG.

Comments

• spiderlashes5000spiderlashes5000 Registered Users Posts: 17,898 Curl Virtuoso
    I think it depends on texture, tightness of curl and condition/health. But IMO it should never be longer than 3-4 inches past BSL or it looks too weighed down and "wall like" to flatter.

• happy-girlhappy-girl Registered Users Posts: 208
    Someone took a picture of me over the weekend with their digital camera. When they showed it to me I was really surprised how great my hair looked in some shots (because it is very healthy) and awful in others.

It kind of looked like a wall of hair, like you said. Like I have these massive curtains hanging from my head. It looked more plastered down close to my scalp (weight I guess) and full and thick at the bottom. (and just kind of wavy... when it was short, it was more 3a-3b.)

It's just funny how at 1 inch below BSL the thickness is a bad thing and 1-2 inches above it kind of plays in my favor.

I guess I didn't realize just how much hair I have until I saw the pics.
    Mid-back length 3a, red.
  • aaa00aaaa00a Registered Users Posts: 284