better to CO-wash or shampoo with no sulfates???

So I can't figure out which is better: to co-wash every once & a while, or to shampoo with a sulfate free 'poo. I'm just struggling with which I should do... I'm pretty new to the CG routine and I have pretty dry, damaged hair. But for some reason, I much prefer to shampoo every day... I think it's an extension of my PRODUCT JUNKIE!!! It's sad... but true! I just like to use lots of stuff, haha. Anyways, which do you recommend and why? THANKS!

Comments

• mitabirdmitabird Registered Users Posts: 226 Curl Connoisseur
    If you want to shampoo every day, do it. Nothing wrong with that. You could also try alternating days. For example, shampoo one day and the next day, CO wash and then shampoo, CO wash, etc to see if you would even like CO washing. If you do, cut back on the shampooing and increase your CO washing.
    Western Pennsylvania

3b, medium textured, medium thickness, medium porosity, protein sensitive
    CG since 6/22/04

CO Washes: Suave Conditioners, Devacurl No Poo
    Conditioners: Trader Joe Nourish, GV Conditioning Balm, JC Too Shea
    Styling: Biosilk Rock Hard Gelee, Chi Infra Gel, GF Pure Clean Gel
    DT: Devacurl Heaven in Hair, Nature's Therapy Mega Moisture, Hask Henna & Placenta (every 3 mo)

Hair photos
    pw: manycurls
  • KaiaKaia Registered Users Posts: 8,815 Curl Connoisseur
    If your hair is dry, I'd recommend co-washing. The CG method is like rehab for damaged hair. You could slowly transition to shampooing less by alternating days, then co-washing twice for every time you shampoo, etc. If you're co-washing instead of shampooing, you're still using the same amount of "stuff" and the same steps. Conditioner is just less drying on the hair than shampoo.
    *Poster formerly known as Bailey422*

Here's all you have to know about men and women: women are crazy, men are stupid. And the main reason women are crazy is that men are stupid. ~ George Carlin