Yoga Mats - Please help me choose

ZinniaZinnia Registered Users Posts: 7,339
I bought a yoga DVD, which I enjoy. Now I need a mat.

I am a beginner. The mat will be on carpet (not very cushiony carpet...very hard floor). I need something that is extra cushy.

These are two I cannot decide between:

Yoga Monster Mat
This is the yoga mat you've been waiting for. The Monster Mat is both monster sized and monster thick. It provides a thick, textured surface for extra stickiness and grip. Double-sided traction for double the mat life. Monster Mats are hand washable. Extra long size: 24" x 72 Double thickness: 1/4" (6 mm) - for added comfort. Available in five colors: Zen Red, Deep Black, Blue, Purple and Sunrise Yellow. This is one of the finest Yoga mats at a great price.

Most 1/8 inch thick sticky mats are too thin and soft and simply do not provide enough cushion to ones knees, ankles and other sensitive bones for comfortable yoga practice. Yoga Monster mat is 140% thicker measuring 1/4" thickness and with more density more cushion and more comfort.

Natural Cotton Fitness Mat
Natural Cotton Fitness Mat is covered in sturdy cotton canvas and stuffed with pure cotton batting. The Cotton Fitness Mat brings comfort to your exercise, relaxation or massage. This extra thick mat is great for Yoga or Pilates and is especially useful for those needing extra padding. The attached rollup ties allow for easy storage and can be used as a bolster and the attached shoulder strap makes for easy transport. Consider adding the washable protective cotton cover sold separately. Also available in Organic Cotton.

(This one is about 2 inches thick)

Made in the USA.

These comfy cotton mats have many uses from camping, napping for kids and adults, play mat and for children's sleepovers - just to name a few.

Thanks!
If you have any other recommendations, please let me know.
Life shrinks or expands according to one's courage. Anais Nin

Comments