Does my hair need protein or something else?

sa.axelrodsa.axelrod Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 3 Curl Neophyte
Hello, friends! I can’t tell if my hair needs protein, or something else. I overloaded a year ago on a keratin mask my hair really liked… at first. My hair became very dry, very frizzy. I started using jessicurl deep conditioning overnight before washing my hair, and that fixed the problem. I do overnight treatments in the ends anytime my hair starts looking dry— every few weeks, or so. 

My hair is past my chest, layered, mostly fine/medium, prone to being flat, but reasonably healthy, as far as I can tell. I have been straightening it for twelve years, but it’s shiny, and soft, and only minorly frizzy, given where I live. 

I had loose spiral curls when I was little, and I think that’s what my hair wants to be. I have a few in the bottom layer, and, when I didn’t refresh my hair, the bottom layer started spiraling together in a big clump. That’s what I want it to do. Only, some of the hair isn’t getting with the program. I have some loose waves, which are pretty, and then some that are just.. straight. And then I have these pieces that obviously want to curl. You can see the … indent where it wants to curl, but, instead, it’s this mostly straight but oddly wrinkled strand of hair… like a pool noodle. Wet or dry, my hair has very little stretch— it just snaps. But, it’s not frizzy, or tangly, can be brushed out post-shampoo without conditioner, doesn’t hold a hot-iron curl… I've tried the test, but I can't figure out the answer. 

My current hair care is overnight, deep conditioning as needed. I do a hard water treatment every few weeks (last week, in this case), and a Neutrogena clarifying treatment, today. I went through all my products and got rid of everything that had silicones or other non-safe ingredients, so they won’t be reintroduced to my hair.