Tryin' to ball on a budget here

krishykrishy Posts: 1Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
edited November 2018 in Hair Type 3
It's been about three weeks since I started my curly hair journey. I've been using the correct cg shampoos and conditioners for about a year now, but it hasn't been much help, as I double bleached it over the summer and had been straightening it every other day in a last- ditch effort to maintain its lost splendor. I believe it's supposed to be 3b at its best- but who really knows? Its 2a-3b at the moment. Straightened, its almost at my waist. Im trying to keep it long (I'm aware that the big chop needs to be done at some point) 

I'm a college student on a budget- other than shampoo, conditioner, and coconut oil, whats the one (cheap) product that I NEED to help my hair heal? I'm doing all I can with what I have: t shirt drying, sulfate free shampoo/conditioner, deep conditioning with oil once a week, only washing 2-3 times a week. I can't afford a diffuser/blowdryer! I also don't have ANY styling products or leave in stuff. Please help... I'm going through the weirdest transition phase.. The thing is that i'm receiving more compliments now, with my crazy hair texture, than I ever did with my hair straight!

Edit: my profile picture is old, and i had curled my hair for the picture. Will try to add a newer picture when I get a good one.

Comments

• Guide 65Guide 65 Posts: 1,984Registered Users, Moderators Curl Virtuoso
    Welcome!  The problem with your request is that everyone's hair reacts so differently to products - what might be my ONE holy grail product, is probably someone else's "wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole" product. 

But with that said - I would suggest getting a gel to help hold your curls through the day and help control frizz.  You can get some good-but-cheap gels - LA Looks Extreme Sports gel, Aussie Instant Freeze or Herbal Essence Set Me Up gel.
    Formerly known as Janiegirl