Noob with 100 questions

IngebjovIngebjov Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 7 Curl Neophyte
edited October 2018 in Information for Newbies
Hi!
(Sorry if this is in the wrong category!)

I'm fairly new to CG, and I'm having trouble understanding why my hair reacts the way it reacts from day to day. If I'm not mistaken, I'm a type 2B/C wavie with medium to low porosity, thin/fine hair..

1. What causes stringy curls? Sometimes my curls are stringy and disgusting, even on wash days. Any theories? 

2. My hair always looks way better on day 2 after washing. How could that even happen? Could I be using too much product? I feel like I am using very little. A tiny dash of leave in and a little bit of gel. 

3. Since my hair is so thin, I prefer the big volum eand poofy hair days. Do any of you have product recommendations based on my hair type and desired result?

Random tips for a noobie like me based on my hair type is also greatly appreciated!
Thanks! #noob

Best Answers

• Guide 65Guide 65 Registered Users, Moderators Posts: 1,984 Curl Virtuoso
    Answer ✓
    Welcome!  I think we have very similar hair.

If your hair has been looking good and then suddenly goes stringy - I have no idea why this happens.  It happens to me too, even after 2 years of doing this.  Just on my last wash day it happened.  I blame it on the weather.  We had a sudden weather change, nothing else was different.

I also like my day 2 hair better.  For me, it's because it poofs out just slightly which gives me more volume, and the curls are a bit straighter so it's just wavy and and not curly at all.  One day 1 they're sort of curly on top and wavy underneath, and I prefer having them all the same.