Help - Absolute Beginner - feel like giving up already!

cookiemomstercookiemomster Posts: 4Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
Hi everyone
Firstly a big hello and I'm so grateful to have somewhere to ask all these questions. I'm 36 and I've battled with my hair my whole life - every hairdresser I've ever been to doesn't believe that it's curly / wavy and always cuts it straight and then it ends up looking crappy as soon as I either leave the salon or the next day. 
I've decided to embrace CGM and have read the book and this site over and over but I'm stuck on a few things so I hope someone out there can maybe help....
1. I'm not sure what my curl type is? It seems like it should be a 2b but I have LOADS of hair and it's very dry due to a bout of repeated colouring (and colour correcting). It could even be 2c but I don't know. When it was longer and I used to tie it up damp it would go into pretty tight curls but they were always super frizzy and didn't stay long after taking my hair down. As a result I never wore my hair 'down' for longer than an hour or two at a time. My hair was about mid chest length and didn't really have many layers (I miss long hair - sob!)

2. I'm following the wash day method for wavy's but my hair seems to drop the curls I so lovingly caressed into my diffuser within about an hour. I've been using cantu curl creme on wet hair then plopping then mega hold gel then plopping again then diffusing but nothing seems to hold the curl - it's like my hair is eating the product - the only crunch I have to scrunch out is at the very ends and I have a lovely 'frizz halo'