What am I doing wrong???

keelah_selaikeelah_selai Posts: 6Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
Hi wavy ladies! I am so frustrated with my hair, I’m seriously considering throwing in the towel.

My hair is probably 2C, coarse, thick, and high porosity. I’ve color treated my hair for many  many years, and it’s about down to my hips now. I’ve been doing CG for about eight months, and I don’t know what else to try. I’m so frustrated.

Ive tried pre-pooing with coconut oil, and then castor oil, and then almond oil before low-pooing and conditioning. I’ve tried cowashing with occasional clarifying. I’ve tried the LOC method, I’ve tried LCEG, I’ve tried just using creams, just using gels, and the result is still a tangly, dense, frizzy hunk of limp curls. I can see my hair spiraling around itself, but it just seems to be barely wavy in parts.  My current routine is cowash with VO5 conditioner, squish to condish, and then Kinky Curly Knot Today as detangler/leave in. Then I flip my hair over and detangle with a comb forever, until my arm, neck, and scalp hurt, then I give up on that. Recently I’ve been following up with Cantu Curl Activator, then EcoGel with argan oil, then LA Looks Sport Gel. I scrunch and pump, wrap it in a t shirt, and go to sleep. It usually takes 12 hours to dry enough to be socially acceptable, 18 hours to dry completely. I don’t use heat.

i also clarify about every other week, and do a deep conditioner. I’ve tried SheaMoisture JCBO DC, I’ve tried Hask Keratin Mask, I’ve tried various homemade concoctions, and the result always seems to be the same. In desperation I tried using Aphogee Two Step, and it seemed to make my hair less elastic, but has not improved the appearance. I have also switched to using semi-permanent hair dyes (I’ve tried oVertone, Manic Panic, and Adore so far) and have not used permanent dye on my hair since beginning CG. Also, the picture is representative of what it always looks like, regardless of what I do.

help?