Wavemaker - stringy hair

Pree990Pree990 Posts: 28Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Novice
Hey everyone,

I have type low porosity 2A hair.  I had been experimenting with a gel for a few months and gave up on it because it weighed my hair down too much ( I tried Miss Jessie's Jelly Soft Curls and LA Looks which looked nice if a diffused but otherwise it felt like it weighed my hair down).  

I moved onto Devacurl Wavemaker because I read a lot of good things about it.  My hair looked really good when I tried a sample of it about 5 months ago but I've been finding that my hair looks stringy with it now.  I wash with TJ Tea Tree Tingle and condition with V05 Strawberries and Cream and clarify every 3 weeks with V05 Kiwi Lime shampoo.  After conditioning I take a quarter sized dallop of wavemaker and use the praying hands method to distribute it and then scrunch it in.  I've also tried just scrunching it in directly and not using praying hands and it still looks stringy.  I've also tried using a nickel sized amount but found that my hair would get really frizzy so I've been playing with using a little more.  I even tried layering a tiny bit of gel on top after too - still stringy.  

Any advice on how to make it work?  Otherwise I'm having trouble justifying the cost of this stuff lol.

Answers

• Therese1Therese1 Posts: 2,563Registered Users Curl Virtuoso
    It might be that the Deva performs better in different dew points. If you tried it five months ago, I'm guessing the dew point was quite different (?). A lot of us on the forum find that products can behave very differently based on the dew point and time of year.

I personally didn't have much luck with Wavemaker. It seemed to make my hair sticky and dry.
    Low poo: Intelligent Nutrients (IN) Harmonic; Oribe Cleansing Creme
    RO: IN Harmonic
    LI: CJ Beauticurls; Jessicurl (JC) Gelebration Spray
    DC: JC Deep Conditioning Treatment; Weleda Rosemary Conditioning Oil