I don’t know where to ask this but

TsukTsuk Posts: 1Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte

A little bit of background first, I’m a college student who stopped cutting my 4c? hair around 4 years ago. I say “stopped cutting” instead of “started growing out” because I had literally no idea what I was doing. I had no knowledge of how to take care of natural hair and essentially destroyed it over the years based on a few misconceptions (I combed it out every morning with just water and no other products, so it was always dry, wispy, and broken).

I’ve figured out in the past few months what I should be doing in a general sense, but I’m still basically waving my hands around in the dark. I’ve tried two strand twists to try and restore my curl definition, but I’m just not sure if the results are what they should be. My hair doesn’t cooperate or react in the ways I see others do on YouTube, and I’m plagued by frizz and flyaways. 

Is my hair damaged enough that I should big chop and start over? Or am I overreacting and I can salvage this with careful routine?

Pictures:

https://imgur.com/a/9JRcYdb

Answers

• Guide 65Guide 65 Posts: 1,703Registered Users, Moderators Curl Virtuoso
    Welcome to CurlTalk!  I don't know anything about 4C hair, but hair is hair - so this is just general knowledge stuff.

If you haven't done any chemical treatments (straightening, dying, etc.), then you can improve the health of your hair with careful treatment.  No need to big chop!  Although you might want a little trimmed off - just enough to clean up the ends.  Split ends are bad, so make sure you get those cut off if you have any.

Your hair is probably dry and needs more moisture.  Deep conditioning treatments can help.  Conditioner every day, even if you don't wash.  I've heard good things about the LOC method - try looking that up.
    Formerly known as Janiegirl
    2B/2C, fine hair, low density, mixed porosity, protein loving hair
    Current products: