desperate! Need gel recommendations

curlypaintercurlypainter Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Posts: 9 Curl Neophyte
Hello Curlies, newbie here
I am desperate for gel recommendations.  I have used Dep sport gel (hold 11) for years and once they discontinued it,  I bought the little travel sizes in lots on ebay/amazon.  Well now I can't get those anymore and my supply is just about gone.  I have tried pretty much every drug store gel out there with disastrous results, they leave my hair frizzy and feeling like straw, or super thick with no defination.   I like a gel with  lots of hold, I don't mind a crunch feeling because I can usually scrunch it out.  I have tried the deva curl products and my hair does not like them at all, there is just not enough hold in the gel so all I get is frizz.  I use Suave as a cowash and vo5 as my conditioner and I do clarify with build up buster from Deva curl, seems to be the only product of theirs that my hair doesn't mind. I do blow dry my hair so I can get a bit looser curl, as I don't care for really tight curls on myself. I can't air dry as it takes HOURS for it to get completely dry and it usually dries very frizzy.   I do get my hair cut by a deva trained stylist who is awesome.
My hair is a 3b type curl, not sure of anything else.  My hair does not like creams, gels works the best.
Any recommendations, I'm desperate!? 
Thanks so much,
Curly painter

Best Answer

• Guide 65Guide 65 Registered Users, Moderators Posts: 1,984 Curl Virtuoso
    Accepted Answer
    I checked the ingredients in Dep - it has a protein, and pretty high on the list.  So with that in mind, you might like Bada Bing gel from Sallys.  It's also high in protein. And it's in the drugstore price range, although not found in drugstores (as far as I know).  It's a very hard hold gel too.
    Formerly known as Janiegirl
    2B/2C, fine hair, low density, mixed porosity, protein loving hair
    Current products: