Can I get my curls back? Is this just what they are now?

Calla_bungaCalla_bunga Posts: 2Registered Users, Curl Ambassador Curl Neophyte
Okay, so I’m just getting started on my recommitment to curly hair! It just can’t bounce back like it used to! So I would say my hair is somewhere between a 3a & 3b right now. I have started the CG method, but not endured long enough to see results. I have 3 kids under 4, which means a lot of hormonal changes in a short amount of time. My hair got fuller & healthier with my boys’ pregnancies but lost curl. During my last pregnancy my hair thinned & dried out but regained some curl.  So I will include some evolution pictures. I’d love to get back to my 3b curls of college days, but I’m not sure if it’s possible.  What products/ techniques would you recommend for my hair? Any success stories of regaining your younger self’s curls? Top 2: younger self, bottom L: after sons’ births & lost curl, bottom R: current hair 3a/3b, fine, medium density, medium porosity, pretty healthy, not dry/damaged  -

current routine: I have clarified,  nopoo, wash w/ shea moisture conditioner 2x/wk, plop w/ T-shirt to 30%ish dry, devacurl style cream, diffuse to 80% dry (head upside down), carol’s daughter black vanilla hair oil, Shea moisture coconut hibiscus hold & shine moisture mist. Hairspray & fingertease roots for some lift! Sleep with scrunchied pineapple. 

Best Answers

• Mehndi-RubiMehndi-Rubi Posts: 24 Curl Connoisseur
    Accepted Answer
    I know this story! I have 3 kids as well, but if they were all under 4, I'd be LOSING all my hair! 

Hormones can be tough on hair, plus hair has "cycles" in growth and the longer hair has existed on your head the more damage/changes it has had to experience.

Your hair looks longer in the recent pictures, so your curls me be elongated from the weight of the hair, making them seem less tight. 

What type of climate do you live in?  Do you take vitamin regularly?